In Memoriam: Roger Ebert

1942 – 2013

Roger Ebert was a film critic. A film critic who redefined the art of film criticism. His reviews could sky-rocket a career and bring a nobody out of the shadows and into the spotlight. His iconic use of a “thumbs up” for grading a film is used frequently nowadays, sadly without much recognition to Ebert himself. Roger Ebert was not scared to give a movie a bad review. He told the truth, a bold truth that was always agreeable true! For me, Roger Ebert was the first film critic I ever knew by name. Whenever I came across a review, the first thing I would do was look for his name and see what he had to say because I knew that he would tell the raw truth. I agreed with his opinions 99% of the time, and I am terrified at the fact that I now can’t know what a great man thinks after he sees a movie. Roger Ebert was not just a critic. He was a man who loved the art of film and loved to talk about it.

We are put on this planet only once, and to limit ourselves to the familiar is a crime against our minds – Roger Ebert

 

2 responses

  1. I’ve heard about this guy! When I was reading about the Host and the critcs’ reviews, Wikipedia said it was his last movie review. And he gave the movie a negative review…

Leave a Reply

